Eaglais ‘An Fiosaich

Historical Site

Web link:

tourism providers  19.jpg

Standing proud on the edge of a cliff far out in Filiscleitir moor are the ruins of a church, Eaglais ’an Fiosaich and a house, Taigh ’an Fiosaich.

Eaglais ‘An Fiosaich and Taigh ’an Fiosaich was built by John Morrison Nicolson in 1905. John was a Baptist minister originally from Ness who had emigrated to America. When he returned with his American wife Nora Cushings, he built the church to have services for the locals who were at their shielings for the summer grazing of their cattle. Hymns would have rung out over this landscape, which was unusual at that time, as only psalms were sung in the nearby community. Crofters were also baptised in moorland lochs. Although it is quite a trek from Skigersta to reach the site of Taigh ‘an Fiosaich, it is worth the effort. Although it is quite a trek from Skigersta to reach the site of Eaglais ’an Fiosaich and Taigh ‘an Fiosaich in Filiscleitir, it is worth the effort. The church is perched on top of a towering cliff with breathtaking views back along the coast to Skigersta and onwards to Tolsta.

Address/Seòladh:

Filiscleitir, Skigersta, Isle of Lewis, HS2 0TS

Contact/Cuir Fios: